TAM-E Conference

Tense, Aspect, Modality – Evidentiality

Comparative, Cognitive, Theoretical and Applied Perspectives


Thursday, November 17 – Friday, November 18, 2016

University of Paris Diderot, France


The CLILLAC-ARP research team at the University of Paris Diderot, in collaboration with the LaTTiCe (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris 3 University, CNRS), will be holding an international linguistics conference on Tense, Aspect, Modality – Evidentiality. The conference aims to gather researchers working on TAM-E in one or more of the following research areas:

  • Comparative linguistics: any typological, contrastive and/or crosslinguistic approach to an issue related to the description of TAM-E systems.
  • Cognitive linguistics: research exploring links between epistemic modality, evidentiality or mirativity and mental/cognitive representations.
  • Theoretical linguistics: any theoretical perspective on at least one aspect of TAM-E.
  • Applied linguistics: first or second language acquisition of at least one aspect of TAM-E systems.

We welcome proposals for:

– paper presentations (20 minutes + 10 minutes for questions)

– roundtable presentations for doctoral students (15 minutes + 15 minutes discussion)


300 word abstracts (plus references) in French or English will state the research hypothesis, methodology, data, findings and the area(s) of research as listed above.


Proposals should be submitted via Sciencesconf.org by May 10, 2016.



Key dates :

March 15: Abstract submission starts

May 10 : Abstract submission deadline

June 30: Notification of acceptance

July 1 – September 15 : Early bird registration (100 euros; 50 euros for graduate students)

September 16 – November 16: regular registration (130 euros; 50 euros for graduate students)

November 17: Registration closes


Conference fee includes registration, coffee breaks and reception on Friday, November 18

Conference dinner: 40 euros








Université Paris Diderot, CLILLAC-ARP EA 3967

Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris 3 Sorbonne Nouvelle, CNRS, LaTTiCe UMR 8094

Labex TransferS

Université Sorbonne Paris Cité




Université Paris Diderot


The University of Chicago, Center in Paris





Plenary Speakers:

Gosselin Laurent (Université de Rouen)

Michaelis Laura (University of Colorado, Boulder)

Sorace Antonella (University of Edinburgh)

Tournadre Nicolas (Aix-Marseille Université)


Organising committee:

Ayoun Dalila (University of Arizona)

Bouveret Myriam (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Université Paris 3 Sorbonne Nouvelle)

Celle Agnès (Université Paris Diderot)

Lansari Laure (Université Paris Diderot)


Assisted by :

Ascone Laura (Université de Cergy-Pontoise)

Bonnot Charles (Université Paris Diderot)

Boulin Myriam (Université Paris Diderot)

Gilbert Charlène (University of Indiana)

Hervé Coralie (Université Paris Diderot)

Pélissier Maud (Université Paris Diderot)



Scientific Committee :

Arigne Viviane (Université Paris 13)

Bourdin Philippe (York University, Toronto)

Boye Kasper (University of Copenhagen)

Bres Jacques (Université de Montpellier 3)

Child Mike (Universiteit Leiden)

Corre Eric (Université Paris 3)

Croft William (University of New Mexico)

Dendale Patrick (University of Antwerp)

Depraetere Ilse (Université de Lille 3)

De Wit Astrid (Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Do-Hurinville Danh Thành (Université de Franche Comté)

Donabédian Anaïd (INALCO)

Glynn Dylan (Université Paris 8)

Guentchéva Zlatka (CNRS)

Housen Alex (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

Howard Martin (University College Cork)

Huyghe Richard (Université Paris Diderot)

Labeau Emmanuelle (Aston University)

Lapaire Jean-Rémi (Université Bordeaux-Montaigne)

Larreya Paul (Université Paris 13)

Leclercq Pascale (Université de Montpellier 3)

Lemmens Maarten (Université de Lille 3)

Marin Arrese Juana (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)

Miller Philip (Université Paris Diderot)

Noël Dirk (University of Hong Kong)

Peterson Tyler (University of Arizona)

Pietrandrea Paola (Université de Tours)

Roberts Leah (University of York)

Saillard Claire (Université Paris Diderot)

Tournadre Nicolas (Aix Marseille Université)

Tsangalidis Anastasios (University of Thessaloniki)

Van der Auwera Johan (University of Antwerp)

Ziegeler Debra (Université Paris 3)