27-29 June 2016 CFP Manchester —Final Call EBSN Annual Conference

CFP—Final Call
EBSN Annual Conference

Manchester 27-29 June 2016

We invite proposals for the Fifth Annual Conference of the EBSN, which will take place in Manchester, UK, from 27-29 June, at The Wonder Inn (http://www.thewonderinn.co.uk), in the vibrant heart of the city.

As always, papers on any aspect of Beat creativity are welcomed, but especially in relation to two central themes: music and science. The themes are reflected in our two confirmed conference keynotes: C.P. Lee, legendary Manchester musician and musicologist, and Andrew Lees, Professor of Neurology.

Music, because of the long association between the Manchester music scene and Beat or more broadly countercultural activity—including Burroughs’ famous Final Academy appearance at the Hacienda nightclub in 1982. And science, because Manchester will be European City of Science in 2016 and there are rich possibilities for exploring Beat creativity in relation to the sciences.

We’re open to all types of submissions, from long papers to short talks, panels, roundtables, open dialogues, visual exhibitions and musical performances. The Wonder Inn is an ideal location for the kind of more informal participations we welcome as well as conventional presentations. You don’t need an academic affiliation, only to be a member of the EBSN.

For all enquiries, and to send abstracts of 250 words with a short bio (unless you are already an EBSN member), please contact the Conference Administrator, Raven See (rsee11@elmira.edu). Abstracts no later than Feb. 15th. Decisions on participation will be made by March 1.

Conference Fee (includes refreshments & lunch): Full 3-day rate, £50; 1-day rate, £20; Student/Unwaged: 3-day rate, £30; 1-day rate, £10. There will also be a final night dinner (cost and venue to be confirmed).

Accommodation: reasonably priced rooms at special rates have been block-booked at local hotels close to the conference venue. Full details will be posted in March.

Conference Organizing Committee:
Douglas Field (douglas.field@manchester.ac.uk)
Oliver Harris (oliverharris@mac.com)






Étiquettes :